Ministry of power Signs MoU with DRDO for Implementing Early Warning System

We are here for you to provide the important Recent and Latest Current Affairs 28 December 2022, which have unique updates of Latest Current Affairs 2022 events from all newspapers such as The Hindu, The Economic Times, PIB, Times of India, PTI, Indian Express, Business Standard and all Government official websites.

Our Current Affairs December 2022 events will help you to get more marks in Banking, Insurance, SSC, Railways, UPSC, CLAT and all State Government Exams.

Ministry of power Signs MoU with DRDO for Implementing Early Warning System

Ministry of power Signs MoU with DRDO for Implementing Early Warning System

On 27th December 2022 the Ministry of Power signed a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) with the Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO) for implementation of Early Warning System (EWS) for vulnerable hydro power projects, especially those that are located in upper reaches of Hilly regions.

  • The MoU was signed by Alok Kumar, Secretary, Ministry of Power and Dr Samir V Kamat, Secretary, Department of Defence (R&D) & Chairman, DRDO.

Key highlights:
i.The Ministry of Power and DRDO will jointly work towards developing suitable mitigation measures against avalanches, landslides, glaciers, glacial lakes and other geo-hazards.
ii.Under the partnership, the expertise of DRDO will be utilised in developing a comprehensive Early Warning System in hilly regions.
iii.Separate and specific tasks will be formulated between DRDO and respective project developers in agreement with broad understanding.

About Early Warning System (EWS):
EWS is an integrated system of hazard monitoring, forecasting and prediction, disaster risk assessment, communication and preparedness for timely action to reduce disaster risks in advance of hazardous events.
Note – Ministry of Power has also signed other MoUs with the Council of Scientific and Industrial Research (CSIR)’s National Geophysical Research Institute, the Indian Meteorological Department, the Wadia Institute of Himalayan Geology and the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO)’s National Remote Sensing Centre (NRSC).
About Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO):
Chairman –Dr. Samir V Kamath
Headquarters – New Delhi, Delhi
About Ministry of Power:
Union Minister – R K Singh (Arrah Constituency, Bihar)
Minister of State (MoS) – Krishan Pal (Faridabad Constituency, Haryana)

Leave a Comment